#Students1stDbnSchs-Press Release #56-Four seats open in Dearborn Schools race

12 Jun

Board candidate filing deadline is July 21

The filing deadline to run for the Dearborn Public Schools Board of Education this year is July 21, and the District has an unusual four of the seven seats up for election.

The Nov. 3 election will include three seats for full six-year terms.  Those elected will serve from January 2021 through December 2026.  The fourth seat is a two-year partial term created when Fadwa Hammoud resigned last year. The winning candidate for that position will be seated after election results are certified in November and then serve until the end of 2022.

Dearborn School trustees oversee both Dearborn Public Schools and the Henry Ford College.  They are responsible for the budget at both institutions and overseeing and evaluating the district superintendent and college president. Trustees are not involved directly in day-to-day operations in the district. Those interested in the Board’s role are encouraged to watch some recent Board meetings on the District’s YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/user/dpscommdept.

Those interested in running for school board need to file their paperwork with the Dearborn City Clerk’s Office by July 21 at 4 p.m. The required forms are available on the District website at under the Board of Education tab at https://dearbornschools.org/district/board-of-education/.

That paperwork includes a school board candidate affidavit and a nominating petition with at least 40 signatures but not more than 100.  A candidate can pay $100 instead of collecting signatures.  The City Clerk’s office is at 16901 Michigan Avenue.  A notary will be available at the office to notarize the affidavit.

Note, given the evolving situation with the COVID 19 closures, candidates are encouraged to call the City Clerk’s office to check when the office is open and if they need to schedule an appointment.  That number is 313-943-2010.

The deadline to withdraw from the race is July 24.

Trustees with terms that expire this year include Mary Lane, Michael Meade, Adel Mozip and Mary Petlichkoff.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *