#Students1stDbnSchs-Press Release #34-Dearborn Chamber now taking Teacher of the Year nomination

10 Feb
Press Release #34/2019-20
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 10, 2020
Contact: David Mustonen, Communications Director
(313) 827-3006 MustonD@dearbornschools.org

Time to nominate your favorite Dearborn teacher!

It’s time for students to nominate their favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher for the 2020 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Award, sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group.  The nomination deadline is Monday, March 9, 2020 at 5 p.m.  Nomination forms can be found at the District website at https://dearbornschools.org.

Printed nomination forms may be picked up at any Dearborn Public School and the District’s Administration Office, 18700 Audette. Completed forms can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Ave., Dearborn, MI 48124 or faxed to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary, but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.

Students may nominate any new or veteran teachers whom they feel has made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession.  Pre-school through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun.  Students in this category can include a nice drawing, if they wish, but it will not be part of the selection process.  Third through fifth grade students must describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life.  Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be college and career ready.

“Nominating a teacher for this award is an outstanding way for students to show teachers how much their work is valued and appreciated and the positive impact teachers have on students’ lives. We have so many excellent teachers deserving of this recognition, and I hope many of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher,” said Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Glenn Maleyko.

Applications will be assessed on the quality of the nomination, not on the number received.  Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.  One winner from each category will be announced at a special ceremony to be held at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center on Thursday, April 23, at 4:30 p.m. 

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences.   Winning teachers receive a $1,000 cash prize and a glass award commemorating their achievement.  They also will join a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

“I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again providing this event,” Maleyko added. “Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners.”


PR 34 Dbn Teacher of the Year 2019 – The Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce is now taking nominations for the 2020 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year awards to recognize four outstanding teachers from Dearborn Public Schools. On hand for the 2019 presentation were from left to right: Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce President Jackie Lovejoy; Dearborn Schools Trustees Dr. Michael Meade, Adel Mozip, Hussein Berry, and Jim Thorpe; Pre K – 2nd Grade Teacher of the Year Award Recipient Lisa Younce of Oakman Elementary; Chairman of the Dearborn Area Chamber’s Education Committee Philipp Emma; 3-5th Grade Teacher of the Year Award Recipient Kimberly Donoghue of Geer Park Elementary; Dearborn Schools Superintendent Dr. Glenn Maleyko; Middle School Teacher of the Year Award Recipient Aaron Pfeil of Woodworth Middle School; General Manager of LaFontaine Automotive Group in Dearborn Mike Law; High School Teacher of the Year Award Recipient Keith Rydzik of Edsel Ford High School; and Dearborn Schools Trustee Mary Lane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *