#Students1stDbnSchs-Press Release #29-Time to nominate your favorite Dearborn teacher!

Press Release #29/2018-19
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 11, 2019
Contact: David Mustonen, Communications Director
(313) 827-3006 MustonD@dearbornschools.org

Time to nominate your favorite Dearborn teacher!

It’s time for students to nominate their favorite Dearborn Public Schools teacher for the 2019 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year Students’ Choice Award, sponsored by the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, and presented by LaFontaine Automotive Group.  The deadline for submitting applications is Friday, March 8, 2019 at 5 pm.  Nominations forms can be found at the District website at https://dearbornschools.org.  An online nomination form is available at https://bit.ly/DbnTeacher2019.

Printed nomination forms may be picked up at any Dearborn public school and the District’s Administration Office, 18700 Audette.  They can be dropped off or mailed to the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce, 22100 Michigan Ave., Dearborn, MI 48124, or faxed to (313) 584-9818. Adults may assist students in completing nominations when necessary, but no more than two teachers can be nominated per student.

Students may nominate any new or veteran teachers whom they feel has made outstanding contributions to the teaching profession.  Pre-K through second grade students are asked to describe how their teacher makes learning fun.  Students in this category can include a nice drawing, if they wish, but it will not be part of the selection process.  Third through fifth grade students must describe how their teacher has created a classroom where learning is positive and fun.  Middle school students (grades 6-8) are asked to explain how their teacher connects classroom learning with everyday life.  Students in high school must describe how their teacher is preparing them to be college and career ready.

“Nominating a teacher for this award is an outstanding way for students to show their teachers how much they appreciate and value the job they are doing in the classroom and the positive impact they have on their lives. We have so many excellent teachers deserving of this recognition, and I hope many of our students will take a few moments to nominate their favorite teacher,” commented Dearborn Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Glenn Maleyko.

Applications will be assessed on the quality of the nomination, not on the number received. Award judges are members of the Dearborn Chamber Education Committee and are not provided with the teachers’ names.  One winner from each category will be announced at a special ceremony being held at the Ford Community and Performing Arts Center on Thursday, April 25, at 4:30 p.m.

Teachers selected to receive the Teacher of Year Award are being recognized as positive role models who consistently provide unique, productive, positive classroom experiences. Teachers selected receive a $1,000 cash prize and a glass award commemorating their achievement.  They also will join a select group of Dearborn teachers who have been recognized by the community for their dedication and passion for teaching.

“I want to thank the Chamber of Commerce and all the sponsors for once again providing this event,” Maleyko added. “Our district is very fortunate to have so many great community partners.”


PR 29 Dbn Teacher of the Year 2018 – The Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce is now taking nominations for the 2019 Alberta Muirhead Teacher of the Year awards to recognize four outstanding teachers from Dearborn Public Schools. On hand for the 2018 Teacher of the Year presentation were Dearborn Chamber of Commerce Education Committee Chair Phil Emma (left), Dearborn Chamber President Jackie Lovejoy, Teacher of the Year High School winner John Bayerl from Michael Berry Career Center, Middle School winner Peter Suni from Bryant, Elementary Pre-K to 2nd grade winner Elizabeth Gutierrez from Geer Park, Elementary grades 3-5 winner Maria Iuliano from Geer Park and Dearborn Superintendent Dr. Glenn Maleyko.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *